collections are for hoarders

Earlier this year I set myself a goal: to get rid of anything that does not add value or purpose in my life anymore. I envisioned being completely or almost fully clutter-free by the end of the year, keep things that I actually use/like and I motivated myself with a rather fictional possibility of moving-out any time soon. Almost one-third of the year has passed by now, but I feel nowhere nearly my goal yet. I’ve gained so much experience and even gotten better in selecting what I honestly don’t need anymore, it still feels like an endless job. Luckily I’ve been very realistic with my time-plan and I knew I would need more time than most people. I know I tend to be very perfectionistic and the way I approach things are always what I consider the best or most respectful way to handle things: with good care.

I found out now that a good way to completely depart yourself with certain items, is to actually enjoy them for one more/last time. I see this experience as some kind of goodbye. Although Marie Kondo suggested in ‘The Life-changing magic of Tidying-up’ that you should just touch the object (not read it or wear it..) and thank it, in order to say goodbye, but for me that is not enough, especially when it comes to sentimental objects and boy do I have many of those. I honestly couldn’t tell anymore what things aren’t sentimental. I never thought that decluttering would entail such emotional discharge in order to heal myself mentally/spiritually and create physical space in the end. Although I don’t need a long closure-routine with every item I own(ed), when it comes to sentimental items, I try to find a special way to be okay with letting go (unless I don’t want to).

I found out that I have/had the most difficulties with the things that defined me as a younger self. In order to fully embrace the now, I truly need to emotionally say goodbye to the past, thanks to the help of these object. I honestly wasn’t aware that I held on to my Harry Potter collection or my Pokémon collection so tight. Apparently I felt the need to keep identifying myself through my childhood-self by still possessing these tokens of what-seemed-back-then a long period of my lifetime. I wasn’t aware I had so many posters left in that untouched box or other gadgets I held on to like relics and I felt like the right thing to do now is take a picture of every thing that sparked joy back then but doesn’t add value/joy to my life today. Then put these picture online with some information of each product, carefully pack them in their boxes and hopefully come across someone who would actually enjoy these things in her/his life more than I haven’t for years now. When I get to think about it, I believe I’ll still keep a thing or two from that collection after selling most of it and donating the rest. Maybe one day I won’t have anything physically remaining from that time of my life. For now it’s a small step towards minimalism; a giant leap for a (former) hoarder.

One thought on “collections are for hoarders

  1. I think we all inherently have a bit of the hoarder mentality in us, which is odd because most animals aren’t hoarders by nature–in fact, very few are. It’s a weird sensation, as you’ve described, when you let go. An emotional discharge. It leads me to believe it’s good for the soul :D

    Like

Leave a reply

