let’s do that again

After I finished reading The Life-Changing Magic Of Tidying Up, I thought I knew exactly how I would handle my mess. That is until I actually started doing so. I’ve been so preoccupied with the ultimate goal of tidying up that I almost forgot to experience the journey itself. Luckily for me, I couldn’t reach my goal and therefore I kept falling back to square-one every single time. This made me feel defeated so many times but I knew I had to keep trying. I don’t know if I am the one actually struggling to follow the decluttering rules, all I do know is that I found myself into many phases of procrastination and denial. Now I’ve come to realize I wasn’t helping myself at all.

Here is where I got it wrong.. (and if you’re reading this: I suggest you to do exactly the opposite of all this:) – I wanted to take baby steps and therefore I didn’t feel the need to absolutely decluttering all at once, sadly this made me feel unsatisfied with even my smallest progress. I didn’t want to ask myself “does it spark joy” every time I held something in front of me, instead I was focused on what to keep and what not, ending with just mediocre choices. I was too lazy to put everything from one category in front of me, but this way I couldn’t see how much stuff I owned and therefore I wasn’t aware of the amount. I couldn’t start dealing with my clothing, thus I went straight to other less-emotional categories, but that just made it all worse.

I understand now more than ever;
a skill is only learned while practiced, not just by reading.

Leave a reply

