pharmaceutical packaging

After a week of heavily drinking cough syrup and spraying down my sore throat, I finally got over that nasty cold.  I was about to throw away the empty syrup bottle, when suddenly I realized how much of a fashion statement this simple but classic bottle design has become these days. It reminded me instantly of luxurious packaging such as the brand Aesop.  And I wondered why a brand with such expensive/luxurious product, still chose to keep their packaging minimal and timeless/ancient.  This is what I believe may possibly be the answer: the pharmaceutical feel and approach gives the costumer a familiar experience where cosmetics is seen as a prescription instead of a extravagant luxury.  And so I ask myself: “Does my skin really need every skincare product I own/use?”

With love, Stéphanie.

Leave a reply

